Unlawful Purchase, Possession, Consumption, of Alcohol by a Minor
In Utah, people under the age of 21 are prohibited from purchasing, possessing, or consuming alcohol. A violation of the statute is commonly referred to as a MIP. Minor in possession of alcohol is a common charge in Utah and officers sometimes do a MIP sting at concerts or other events where youth might gather. MIP is a class B Misdemeanor.
If you are charged with a MIP you should consult with an attorney right away. A good attorney will be able to inform you of your rights and help you make decisions that will be in your best interest.
Consequences of Minor in Possession (MIP)
MIP is a class B Misdemeanor carrying maximum penalties of 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine. A conviction for MIP can remain on your record and show up on you background check. It may affect your employment and schooling. If you are convicted of MIP you may also be facing a 6 month driver license suspension. A good attorney will explore all the possibilities of avoiding a license suspension.
Contact a MIP attorney for a free consultation by clicking here or calling 801-200-3247.